Solved

Not able to install software at endpoint

• 8 December 2023
  • 2 replies

Badge

Hi Everyone, we just recently switched from PDQ to Automox and im new to this platform, and im migrating our baseline applications to Automox.. im using required software policy to install it on endpoint devices.. simples stuff attaching msi or exe and writing installation command in there but the thing it comes out at installed software in Automox policy activity log but its not actually installed at endpoint.. im pasting command here that im using.. let me know if im doing something wrong here.. 

$exitCode = (Start-Process -FilePath 'msiexec.exe' -ArgumentList '/qn', '/i', '"CitrixWorkspaceApp.exe"', '/norestart' -Wait -PassThru).ExitCode exit $exitCode

then i tried this one to see if can get log file to see whats wrong but it giving same thing and dont see a log folder on device..

$logPath = "C:\AutomoxLogs\CitrixWorkspaceAppInstallLog.txt"

try {
    $exitCode = (Start-Process -FilePath 'msiexec.exe' -ArgumentList '/qn', '/i', '"CitrixWorkspaceApp.exe"', '/norestart' -Wait -PassThru -RedirectStandardError $logPath).ExitCode

if ($exitCode -eq 0) {
        Write-Host "Installation completed successfully."
    } else {
        Write-Host "Installation failed with exit code: $exitCode"
    }

} catch {
    Write-Host "An error occurred during installation: $_"
}

Thanks..

icon

Best answer by JohnG-Automox 11 December 2023, 16:20

View original

2 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi @Maulik_Busa !

I noticed that you are calling msiexec.exe in your Required Software Policy, but the installation media is an exe file.

For example:
Start-Process -FilePath 'msiexec.exe' -ArgumentList '/qn', '/i', '"CitrixWorkspaceApp.exe"'

That said, the invocation of the exe and the install switches you’ve passed to it would not work.

According to Citrix’s documentation, the available command line arguments for a silent install via exe are /silent, /noreboot, and /forceinstall