Any musicians in the community?

Since I’ve been in IT, one of the question I keep getting asked by fellow IT people is “Do you play music?”. More often than not, the answer is “Yes”. In the last few years, the question morphed from “Do you play music?” to “What instrument do you play?”. I don’t know if it’s a company culture thing or if it’s generalized, but I want to ask the community here: do you play music, and if so, what instrument(s) do you play?

I started to play guitar when I was about 10. Albeit not a very good player, I enjoy it. I picked up harmonica two years ago, that I’m also not particularly good at, but it’s fun to annoy the dogs :laughing: Last year I started learning bass, and I am steadily making progress. I own RockSmith for XBox One that I often use with my guitar and bass. It makes learning new songs fun. Fun fact: the first song I decided to learn after picking up bass was Iron Maiden’s The Trooper, instead of, say, Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds. That was a fun few months of finger pain :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Nope! I’ve always wanted to learn the piano though.

1 Like

I play the flute. My parents made all of my siblings and I take music lessons. They did let us pick the instrument though. For the life of me I can’t remember why I picked the flute at age 7. Rock Band gave me the basics of drumming, since it actually follows the notes of the song.

There’s a lot of musicians here at Automox. Last all hands meeting one of the new hires mentioned they played the drums and it brought up the conversation of when we were going to start the Automox band. Any suggestions for what we should name it?

1 Like

I don’t play it very often anymore, but I played the trumpet through most of college. Occasionally, I’ll walk past it in the basement and pull it out to jam a bit with my wife on the piano. Being out of practice makes it sound pretty bad–even relative to my skill level–but it’s still a good time.