An Interview with Vania

Happy Thursday, everyone! And welcome back to the Automox Alive Interview Series. This month, we’re talking to @vaniaxu (Vania Xu), an awesome Product Manager here at Automox. And I’ll let her take it from here :slight_smile:

Tell us a bit about yourself!
Hi :wave:I’m Vania (pronounced Vuh-Nay)! Originally from Atlanta, GA but moved to Boulder, CO in 2016 and haven’t looked back since. Goodbye humidity, hello fresh mountain air! I studied computer science at Georgia Tech :honeybee:, so I know how to code, but you probably wouldn’t want me making commits in GitHub as I haven’t coded professionally since 2017 and am definitely not up-to-date with all the latest coding trends. I totally love the technology space, though, and feel very fortunate that I found a career that allows me to keep working in tech.

What do you do at Automox?
I’m a Product Manager here at Automox. I primarily work with engineering and design to help build cool new features in the Automox platform, but I also get to work with a bunch of different parts of the business, such as sales and marketing, as well as directly with the customer. It’s a great job for someone like me who’s a bit of a jack-of-all-trades type of person and who likes a little bit of chaos and open-ended-ness when it comes to working.

How did you get your start here?
I started my career as a front-end software engineer for SolidFire, which was eventually acquired by NetApp. After a few years in engineering, I moved into Product, because I found my passion in learning about customers and their pain points and collaborating with different parts of the company to build a product that end-users love. I joined Automox because I was really itching to work on a cloud-native SaaS platform, and I really love the world of IT and all the exciting, innovative things happening in this space.

What’s your favorite part of your job?