An interview with Shaun

We’re back with another entry into our interview series! (If you want to read any of the previous interviews, check them out here.) This time around, we’re chatting with @D-D-D-D-DropTheTable from the Automox engineering team -

Tell us a bit about yourself!
My name is Shaun. I’m a quality engineer at Automox, and I’ve been chilling here since tax day 2019. I’m a 10th generation American (Irish ancestors moved here in 1703), born in Hollywood, raised in San Luis Obispo, CA and Denver, CO, but really I’m just a boring Colorado suburban dad. I’ve got a degree in computer science (it’s BS), and like a lot of IT folks I dream of a day when I never have to work on a computer again.

How did you get your start at Automox?
A sincere phone call from a former coworker. I had a couple friends leave for Automox, and they would say nice things about the company when we met up for dinner and beers. They’d always half joke that I should join them, and I never took it seriously since I had a steady gig going, but that changed when one of them called and told me they thought I’d be perfect for a gig in their quality team. I came in for an interview since what the heck? (I hadn’t made a resume or interviewed in a decade). When I experienced the office culture, the intelligent and humble employees, and the straightforward and honest attitudes in the interview I was hooked. I had to work for Automox.

What do you like to do in your spare time?