Worklet Deep Dive (August 2021)

• 12 August 2021
  • 0 replies

• Anonymous
  • 0 replies

Hi, everybody - Chad here. As we keep re-launching some popular recurring posts, I discovered the Worklet Deep Dive interview series, where we get some details into the creation of a specific worklet. This month, we’re talking to @marina about her SeriousSAM/HiveNightmare LPE Vulnerability worklet and how it came to be.

What prompted the creation of this particular worklet?

This worklet stemmed from the disclosure of a 0-day impacting Windows machines, so time was of the essence to get this tested and shipped to protect users and customers. I also wanted to try my hand at PowerShell scripting, so this was an opportune moment to help protect customers and get some practice.

What difficulties or obstacles came up while creating it?

Well, I’ve never written a Windows worklet before, and I have limited PowerShell scripting prowess, so there was a steep learning curve for me. For the script itself, there were lots of variables to account for: presence of shadow copies, presence of builtin users, variability in error messages and stdout, x64 vs x86 systems paths and code, code running as ADMIN vs code running as a low privileged user, etc. I also had time constraints to get this code tested, validated and shipped in a timely manner to decrease the window an attacker could exploit this 0-day.

How well is it working and have you been able to identify any network issues with it?